top of page
Search

Who's The Mack???


Lessons from the 64 squares...


"Healthy children will not fear life if their elders have integrity enough not to fear death."-Erik Erikson


My Mondays are simply great. It's the day I get to sit with Mack, one of my chess elders. And for a few hours, I get schooled on the board and on life. In the 6-7 years I've known Mack, though we don't play regularly, I've never bested him on the 64 squares. Recently, I came ridiculously close. After the match, he applauded me on a rook sacrifice that almost mated him. Sheepishly I told him, "You know where I got that from? About 5 years ago, you pulled a similar move on me and I LOVED it! It taught me not to be afraid to give up something for the greater good." His smile of approval was priceless.


Those who have walked these roads before us are living treasures. We would be wise to mine them while we have a chance. Spending time with a parent, grandparent or community elder empowers us in innumerable ways. And the ones who fear not death...give the most life. If I am so fortunate, I too will be a "Mack" one day and I pray to show as much courage, tenacity and resolve as he so the children of my community will feel healthy and free enough to embrace life and all that it has to offer. #NOTG #ChessInRealLife #WarriorMindset #PayItForward

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page