top of page
Search

Think I'd Better Let It Go...


Lessons from the 64 squares...


"People have a hard time letting go of their suffering. Out of a fear of the unknown, they prefer suffering that is familiar."- Thich Nhat Hanh


When I first started playing my youngest daughter, like most young players, she did all she could to hold on to her pieces, especially her queen. This regularly led to her demise. One day she offered up a queen sacrifice for my knights. When I asked why give up a stronger piece for a weaker one, she replied "Knights are YOUR strongest piece. I need them off the board. Plus, the position was more important than a piece." Stunned again. She pushed me to the edge that game, not because she held her pieces, but because she learned to let go...and to not play MY game.


The standard definition of rebellion/revolution has one believing they have to fight something in order to change it, and sometimes that's true. But the best revolution takes place within. Don't waste your time, energy or resources fighting naysayers, negative thinkers, pessimists, or keepers of the status quo in a feeble attempt to "change their minds". Let go of the hate and anger like my daughter sacrificed her queen, and give yourself a better position. Change within and win "without". #NOTG #ChessInRealLife #LetGo #GoWithin #UHaveAllUNeed

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page