top of page
Search

Keep Your Head To The Sky


Lessons from the 64 squares...


"True empathy is rooted in humility and the understanding that there are many people with as much to contribute in life as you."-Anand Mahindra


My chess journey began with a lesson in humility. In my first tournament, I lost 3 games in 7 minutes. Humbling indeed. But it taught me to respect and appreciate the game, regardless of the outcome. I've carried that lesson with me since, and today it manifested...twice.


Today, as I was getting out of my car, I saw a homeless man who was almost hit by another car. He didn't curse or scream. He just nodded and went on his way, humbly. As he passed my car, he saw a case of crackers my wife had asked me to hold on to. Humbly, this man asked "Hey, may I have a few?" My wife responded "Take em all!" His face lit up. "I have cancer and crackers is all I can eat."


Later this same day, I shared the story of a family I know who have been going through major struggles. It took a lot for the dad to humble himself and ask for help. But by doing so, someone they had never met reached out to close the financial gap needed for the deposit on an apartment.

Humility: the gateway to the Divine...and the path to peace. Thankful for those who continue to teach me just by living...humbly. #NOTG #ChessInRealLife #VillageLife

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page